Ring from Plastic Toilet Paper Packaging

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything….I have good reasons!

First is was the holidays. It was the first time in 3 long years that our family was all together. I didn’t want to miss a minute, so I put my blog in the background for several weeks. We had so much fun hiking, shopping, cooking, eating, laughing. Just being together. It was the best holiday season we can remember.

Then my lower back went out…oh the pain!!! The my herniated disk decided to join in the fun…oh the pain!!!  The I pulled a muscle in my neck and shoulder…oh the pain…all I could do was lay on the livingroom floor with an ice pack on my back. (I’m allergic to most pain medication.)

Meanwhile, my husband started having serious health problems and ended up with heart surgery. Thank God he’s well on his way to recovery.

With all that stress, my creative juices were non-existent. It has taken several weeks for things to settle down and get back to normal. Well, almost normal…

This week it seemed so good to design something and write a tutorial for it. I decided to start again with something small….a ring. It works up really fast and easy. It’s inexpensive too! You’ll only need to know the basics of plastic grocery bag bead making and basic wire jewelry techniques.

As you can see from the photo, it’s not anything too complicated. What makes this ring special is the bead…it’s made from plastic toilet paper packaging!

recycled plastic bead ring

Notice the little spiral on the side of the bead? Instead of crimping the end of the wire back into the ring body as most tutorials tell you to do, I decided to make a tiny spiral flourish as a finish for the wire. I think it adds a nice touch and co-ordinates with the larger spiral on the bead.

The PDF format tutorial is free, so enjoy and share! I bet if you made up a few of these, they’d sell quite easily. Click here to download the free tutorial.   Update! Here’s a YouTube slide show tutorial for the ring.

About lorifellows

Lori Fellows lives with her low maintenance husband and high maintenance cat. When she's not designing plastic bag beads and wire work projects, you'll probably find her working in her greenhouse or making bread and pizza in her outdoor earth oven.
This entry was posted in home business, Ring made from recycled toilet paper packaging, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

